## **ACTION STEPS FOR RELEASE**

## WITHIN THE FIRST 24 HOURS:

#### Parole Officer Initial Contact

Upon paroling, you are expected to contact your Parole Officer. Included in the discharge packet is a list of locations.

### Cashing Gate Fee Check

If you have a gate fee (pay) check to cash, go to the nearest bank. You will need some form of ID to cash this check. Often times if you do not have an account with the bank there will be a fee for this service.

### Housing Check-in

If you are going to a transitional living facility, they will have an admission time and date that you will need to check in.

### If required to report to local law enforcement

➤ If you have to register as a sex offender usually you are required to report to local law enforcement within 3 days, however, it is best to do this sooner. Please talk to your local law enforcement as some have time restrictions for when they are available.

## WITHIN THE FIRST 7 DAYS:

## Immediate basic needs

Listed in the discharge packet are emergency resources in the area.

#### Identification Documents

#### Birth Certificate

When applying for a copy of a Nebraska Birth Certificate you must present a photo copy of an ID with your name and date of birth, driver's license or state ID. NDCS ID will work up to 6 months. Principal address in Nebraska (at least two documents are required) Cost is \$17. It takes 2-3 weeks if applying by mail and about 15 minutes if in person at the vital records office in Lincoln. You can get information and applications to obtain copies back varies by state with some states taking up to 2 or more months.

#### Nebraska Driver's License or State ID Card

You will need a birth certificate for identification (if you do not have one, the DMV may have your photo on record if you have had a driver's license or state ID after 2003) You will also need two pieces of mail with their current address, sent within the past 90 days. Minimum cost is \$7.50, valid for one year. Licenses or ID which you want to have valid for longer periods will cost more.

#### Social Security Card

Cost is free. If you want to apply while incarcerated, you must be within 120 days of discharging and can send an inmate interview request to the records manager. They will assist you in filling out the application. If applying in person after release you must go to your local Social Security Administration Office. They will need a driver's license or state ID; Nebraska Department of Corrections ID is NOT accepted.

#### Social Security benefits

To reinstate Social Security Administration (SSA) retirement or disability benefits through the Social Security Administration (SSA) such as Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), you will need to go to your local SSA office. You will need to get these benefits reinstated as soon as possible in order to start receiving the financial benefits and in order to potentially be eligible for Medicaid coverage benefits.

## WITHIN THE FIRST 2 WEEKS:

#### Employment Action Plan

- > A list of vocational rehabilitation locations and employment resources are listed in the discharge packet.
- Prepare a master application, resume, and an explanation letter explaining your crime to give to your employer if they want to know more (this should include: admitting you made a mistake, what you learned from it, explain how you have changed, and how you made your time count.)
- A list of Probation day reporting centers which you can use are included in your packet and may offer employment services or computers to aid in job searching.

## Mental Health Follow-up Appointment

- Find local mental health providers in the phone book, online, NDCS parole staff, or staff at the day reporting centers.
- Make appointments early, often times the offices are busy and you will need to make the appointment at least 2 weeks in advance. Inquire about fees and what kind of insurance they may accept.

#### Substance Use Follow-up Services

- Find local substance use outpatient service providers in the phone book, online, parole offices, or day reporting centers.
- Find local support groups by calling the AA/NA hotline number provided in the discharge packet, phone book, online, parole offices, or day reporting centers.

#### Medical Services

- > Find local health providers in the phone book, online, parole offices, or day reporting centers.
- Make appointments early, often times the offices are busy and you will need to make the appointment at least 2 weeks in advance.

#### Medications

Included in your discharge packet is a medication discount card. After seeing a medical professional and obtaining a prescription you may use this card to lower your cost. This is not insurance. In order to receive the prescription you must make an appointment with a medical professional before your 2 weeks supply runs out. If you did not receive your two weeks supply of medications please contact the facility you discharged from or your parole officer.

# WITHIN THE FIRST FEW MONTHS:

## Community Support

- Look for any support groups that may be helpful to you.
- Find groups in the community that have the same hobbies as you.
- Volunteer in the community.

### Education Action Plans

- Find a program that interests you.
  - Talk to financial aid about options that may be available.
    - Apply